8 Songs I Can’t Get Out of My Head This Month

Raise your hand if you sing in the shower.

Okay, I think that’s most of you. You can’t see me right now, but I did not raise my hand. I’ve never been big on singing in the shower. I will dance in the shower sooner than I will sing in the shower, and that says a lot because I do not like to dance. (Dancing on wet surfaces also happens to be much more dangerous, so please do not try this at home.) It happened once (the singing, that is) last month and was such a rare occurrence that I caught myself off guard, which I didn’t even know was possible.

I am much more likely to break out in song (and bust a move, on occasion) if I’m cooking. And I am most likely to be belting out tunes from the comfort of the driver’s seat in my baby Celica, Lola. If I’m not singing in the car, something is probably wrong. The singing-in-the-car habit started when I found myself on the long drives between home and school. In order to maintain my sanity and keep myself occupied as I drove four and a half to seven hours, I would sing. Now, by no means am I a good, or even somewhat decent, singer. I am loud and very off key because I don’t even know what keys are. If you’ve ever been stuck next to me at a red light or had to personally endure my car-singing, I apologize.

In the past month or so, there are a handful of songs that keep getting stuck in my head. I wake up in the morning singing them. I change the radio station until one of them comes on and then I turn the volume way up. I hum along when I brush my teeth. They’re all so dang catchy! I will now ruin your life by getting stuck in your head (#sorrynotsorry).

Andy Grammer • “Honey I’m Good” | I have always found Andy Grammer’s music especially catchy and his current single is no exception. Two nights ago, this came on the radio when I was a couple blocks from home; I proceeded to sit in my car in the garage because I couldn’t bear to turn it off until it was over. The music video is also so adorable that I have melted into my chair.

Ella Henderson • “Ghost” | When I visited my older sister in Virginia in the fall, this was one of the songs she played over and over in the car or when we were getting ready. It was catchy then and it’s still catchy now. Plus, Ella has a killer voice.

Maroon 5 • “Sugar” | This makes me feel very dancy, and even as I type this, I can’t help wiggling my toes and bobbing my head. I wasn’t a big fan of “Maps” or “Animals,” so I’m glad I can enjoy Adam Levine’s voice on the radio once again. I couldn’t not include the music video for this because it was the reason I first heard the song. If only I had been married on December 6 in LA.

Nick Jonas • “Jealous” | Oh, Nick J. I still remember your curly hair and kelly green Converse and goofy smile. I don’t know what kind of music you’re turning up, but I love this song. And I love imagining how this would have sounded if you were still thirteen years old.

One Direction • “Steal My Girl” | I watched last week’s episode of Lip Sync Battle the other morning while I was trying to wake myself up enough to climb out of bed. Aside from falling more in love with Anna Kendrick and John Krasinski than I already was (and nearly falling out of bed from laughing so hard), this got stuck in my head. I played it on repeat for two days straight because I didn’t want to stop listening. I haven’t been this obsessed with a One Direction song since I used to drive around Manchester with Emily and Erin and blast “What Makes You Beautiful” in the wee hours of the night. Go ahead and try not to dance to this.

Taylor Swift • “Style” | My list wouldn’t be complete without Taylor Swift, obviously. As soon as I heard the clip in a Target commercial, I knew I would love this song a lot. When I finally listened to 1989 for the first time, I realized I was right. I love this song a lot, a lot. “You’ve got that James Dean daydream look in your eye, and I’ve got that red lip classic thing that you like,” and I cannot stop singing along.

Vance Joy • “Riptide” | On one of the windsurfing trips I took in Ireland, I heard Vance Joy for the first time, among some other great music. I will forever associate this song with my time abroad now, which is one of the reasons I love it so much. Taylor Swift covered “Riptide” in the BBC Live Lounge last year and is taking Vance Joy on tour with her this summer as well. I can’t wait to finally jam out to this live.

Walk the Moon • “Shut Up and Dance” | I wake up most mornings and feel the need to dance to this song in bed before I can do anything else. It is a song about dancing, which, as I’ve said, I do not like very much, but I cannot help but want to dance when I listen to this. It is incredibly infectious. Walk the Moon also sings one of my all-time favorite songs, “Anna Sun,” so I was bound to like this.

Besides these songs (you’re welcome), what music is stuck in your head right now?

One thought on “8 Songs I Can’t Get Out of My Head This Month

  1. ashimabukuro says:

    “Shut Up and Dance” is so amazing, but so is the rest of their album, Talking is Hard. TSweezy’s cover of Riptide is probably my favorite ever. I’m so glad she covered it. A few songs I’ve had stuck in my head recently are: Immortals – Fall Out Boy; Jet Pack Blues – FOB; and Lake Michigan – Rogue Wave. There’s so many more but those are off the top of my head.

    Like

Leave a Reply

