You Can Tell the Sun Not to Shine, But I Am Never Going to Stop Making Smoothies

I love fruit. I have always loved fruit. My first favorite ice cream flavor was even strawberry, though I would only eat it if it had the little pieces of real fruit.

I went out for ice cream with my family once when I was only four or five. We went to a small ice cream shop in Southern California, where we lived at the time. I was used to the Very Berry Strawberry flavor at Baskin-Robbins. That was the flavor I wanted. But the strawberry ice cream they had didn’t have any pieces of strawberries. I picked another flavor, grumped over to a corner table (as I often did as a kid), and played with Seaweed, my favorite TY Beanie Baby, until my ice cream was ready.

Somewhere around age 12 or 13, I started getting into smoothies. I used to buy them at the mall or beg my mom for a Jamba Juice whenever we visited my nonna in California. The first smoothies I made at home were simple: strawberries, bananas, and orange juice. I have since transitioned, though strawberries and bananas are still my favorites, and I have been enjoying smoothie bowls as well now.

Here are a few of my recent smoothie bowls:

berry» Berry Full of Antioxidants
Blend: fresh and frozen bananas, frozen berries (raspberries,
blueberries, and blackberries), chia seeds, water
Top with: bananas, strawberries, shredded coconut, chia seeds

tropical» Island Fresh
Blend: fresh and frozen bananas, mango, pineapple, shredded coconut, water
Top with: mango, pineapple, shredded coconut

IMG_5915» Banana-Rama Vanilla
Blend: fresh and frozen bananas, (2-2 1/2 tsp) vanilla extract
Top with: mango and raspberries 

In general, I throw in whatever ingredients I have available, so I didn’t really list specific amounts of anything. Use what you have and as much as you like. Taste as you go. The Banana-Rama Vanilla is a fruitier version of a delicious “banana ice cream” I’ve been making for the last few years, but still not too sweet, in my opinion. Every now and then, I do find a combination that simply does not work. I have not been able to nail any avocado smoothies yet… But you never know until you try!

My favorite thing about smoothies and smoothie bowls is when I eat them and pretend I am somewhere tropical, sunny, and warm. Let me put on my sunglasses and soak up some sun through the skylight while I enjoy all of this delicious fruit and wait for spring to kick in.

2 thoughts on “You Can Tell the Sun Not to Shine, But I Am Never Going to Stop Making Smoothies

  1. Aunt Nancy says:

    Strawberry ice cream is still my favorite – and it MUST have pieces of real strawberries, of course. I would have been grumpy without BR real strawberry too. Nothing to be ashamed about. Sincerely your smoothie bowls look SO good. Make me one this summer at the shore, please??

    Like

Leave a Reply

