jackie and jenny and jilly and jay

When I took Intro to Creative Writing during my first semester of college, we did a lot of writing. A lot. A handful of assignments even included some poetry writing. My favorite poem that I wrote in that class, and possibly ever, was a parody of my favorite e.e. cummings’ poem, maggie and millie and molly and mayMy professor, who I thought barely noticed itty bitty freshman me (and if he did, I thought he probably hated me), even came up to me during one of the group workshops to tell me how much he enjoyed my parody. Needless to say, itty bitty freshman me was pretty proud.

I first got into e.e. cummings’ poetry when I was even ittier bittier sophomore in high school and we were doing poetry papers in my English class. I had, of course, procrastinated choosing my research subject until the moment my teacher was walking up and down the aisles of our classroom and writing down each student’s choice. I picked cummings solely because his name stood out from the others, printed on the suggestion list in all lower case letters. But I was thoroughly impressed once I began my research, and I have been ever since.

There is something particularly exciting about parody writing, in my opinion. Writers and narrators often have a very distinct voice or style. I have been challenged a handful of times to create something specifically in the style of another writer, narrator, or artist, and it is challenging but incredibly rewarding.

jackie and jenny and jilly and jay

jackie and jenny and jilly and jay
kacie and kristy and kelly and kay
laurie and lucy and lily and lay
took a trip to the moon(to play one day)

and jackie discovered how the rocket ship worked
jenny befriended the astronaut man
and jilly was afraid to go into space
jay left home without her mom’s grace

and kacie discovered the lunar rocks
kristy befriended the man on the moon
and kelly was ready to stay
kay came home with a piece of the gray

and laurie discovered nothing
lucy befriended no one
and lily was lonesome
lay came home with nobody

For whatever we find(except on mars)
it’s always ourselves we lose in the stars

I have recently stumbled upon all of my old notes and papers from college, so I’ve been having a blast digging through everything and reminiscing. Whether it’s the stars or the sea, I have enjoyed losing and finding myself in my own “history.”

Leave a Reply

