Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Chip (And Sometimes Coconut) Cookies

And the award for Longest Cookie Name Ever goes to…

We recently cleaned out the cupboards in the kitchen and stumbled upon some rolled oats, dried cranberries, and white chocolate chips. The only logical option was to make some cookies. My idea of cooking is either “Google it and pick a recipe from the first five things that show up” or “pretend you’re a contestant on Chopped and use as many ingredients as possible.” Sometimes it’s even a combination of the two. When it comes to baking, I usually just stick to the recipe. I looked at a few recipes, picked one that showed up on a few different sites, and decided to go for it.

Bad. Idea.

They were dry and crumbly. By the time they made it out of the oven, they were burnt but barely even cooked through. I will spare you pictures of the sad event.

I went back to my “drawing board” (ahem, Google) and tried to find a better recipe. I could not find one that I liked and that had good reviews. The closest I came was to an oatmeal cranberry cookie, but it still wasn’t perfect. So I took my alternate cooking route and decided to craft my own recipe. And, man, did it pay off. Somehow, I made the most delicious, perfectly crunchy-but-chewy cookies I have ever had.

I made two more batches to celebrate my friends being home for the weekend, this time with coconut. I will not be modest: they were delicious. I think Taylor Swift would be proud. I also approve of any modifications you want to make, because that is my favorite way to cook (and now bake).

Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Chip (And Sometimes Coconut) Cookies
Prep time: 25 min | Bake time: 12-16 min | Yield: 2 1/2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
3/4 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 1/4 cup dried cranberries
3/4 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. With an electric mixer, cream butter and sugars together until fluffy.  Add eggs, vanilla, and vegetable oil. Combine dry ingredients in separate bowl. Add to butter mixture and stir until well blended. Add dried cranberries and white chocolate chips. Drop by teaspoons onto parchment-covered baking sheet. Bake 12-13 minutes or until lightly golden. Cool.

For the And Sometimes Coconut version, I made the following changes:

– 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
– 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
+ 1/3 cup melted coconut oil
+ 1 cup coconut flakes

To melt the coconut oil, just pop it in microwave for 30 seconds to a minute. For the batter, cream the coconut oil with both sugars, then add eggs and vanilla (and a bit more coconut oil if you want to make it more moist), and follow the rest of the directions. Add coconut flakes with dried cranberries and white chocolate chips. (*Note: I ended up baking them for 16 minutes, but keep an eye on them after 12 minutes.)

If you have coconut oil, I definitely recommend going all out. I am no food/health expert, but I believe the And Sometimes Coconut version is a bit healthier, even for cookies. If you don’t have coconut oil but you still want some of that flavor, you can always just add 1 cup of coconut flakes to the original recipe. Also, neither of my butter/coconut oil and sugar blends were “fluffy” necessarily, but they still turned out fine.

Leave a comment if you put on an apron and baked some cookies too (and if you made any variations of your own)!

Leave a Reply

